Totally taken in by 30’s Feedsack Prints!

Doing this quilt for Linda (via her very special friend Agnete) has been quite a changing influence in my quilting life! I have not posted any of my own quilts yet on this new blog…and why not? Because I have been totally taken by surprise by a very hard hitting interest in 30’s fabrics! So this amazingly special quilt is the inspiration for my very first blog.

I am usually buying Kaffe Fasset or Amy Butler or Patricia Bravo prints – or anything very colorful, bright and modern. But after doing this quilt with original 30’s feed sack fabrics, I am surprising even myself by buying in a new direction for my stash!

This quilt was made by Linda’s grandmother ….and let’s just say Linda is older than me and I am a new senior ; )  ….OK – I just turned 55.

The quilt had only three borders and it was very obvious it would be more ridiculous to find the same green (just not possible) to put on a forth than to have a quilt with just three borders. The muslin was somewhat permanently yellowed but not too noticeably.

Linda was so very pleased to see this all quilted and washed to a very nicely puckered traditional look when I delivered it on Saturday. And on Sunday I left for a few special days with my husband up the CA coast. Before we got to the hotel he took me to  a really nice quilt shop in Morro Bay, the Cotton Ball, and they had 30’s prints AND a 30’s pattern book AND a Dresden Paper Piecing Pattern!!! Guess who bought them all!!!

Enjoy the photos…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Sew Laura Artisan Quilts

Longarm Quilting Service, Digital Designs, Free Motion Quilting, Custom Quilting, Quilting Patterns
This entry was posted in 30's Fabrics, Longarm Quilting, Quilting, Vintage Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Totally taken in by 30’s Feedsack Prints!

  1. Pingback: Back to the Sack… My American Feed Sack Quilting | Painting With Thread

Leave a Reply

