Thread Painting in the Fall

 

Have you ever tried Thread Painting? It’s easier than the name might imply! I was intrigued for some time and decided to start off with something small… and I think 15″ x 15″ is a great size to start with.

IMG_3725

Thread Painting is a fun way to say “free motion machine embroidery” ~ which is exactly what this is AFTER all the pumpkin pieces are fused or glued to the background. I prefer the gluing technique for thread painting but this pattern also works for HAND EMBROIDERY!

FullSizeRender 15  FullSizeRender 11

If you love to do hand embroidery, then you might also prefer fusing. I tend to do more stitching which builds up so I don’t want that extra fusible layer – but really, it’s a preference.

In my pattern, I include a chart for where to “paint” your thread no matter what method you choose as well as the master and pieces.

map

I talk about pattern prep and glue-basting in my tutorial which goes step by step through another pattern in my mini quilt series and applies to all the mini quilt patterns.

For more info and behind the scenes of pattern and mini quilt, making you can check out the Poinsettia Mini Quilt posts. Unfortunately I didn’t take enough photos of this first mini quilt being made!

Please let me know if you have any questions! You can find the patterns in Instant Download form or Printed Pattern in my Etsyshop.

button_no_count

About Sew Laura Artisan Quilts

Longarm Quilting Service, Digital Designs, Free Motion Quilting, Custom Quilting, Quilting Patterns
This entry was posted in Art Quilt, Mini Quilt, Patterns, Quilting, Raw Edge Applique, Thread Painting, Thread Sketching and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thread Painting in the Fall

  1. Oh my goodness! This is stunning. I love the combo of thread sketching and raw edge applique. I wish I could see this in real life. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Christmas Mini Quilt finished…check! | Painting With Thread

  3. Pingback: Thread Painting Student work! | Painting With Thread

Leave a Reply

