“Ellie’s Birdies”…a new quilt pattern

After a long break from pattern making I was able to wrap my head around it again to finish this one!

Pattern writing is much Much MUCH harder than you think! But I’m so glad to have this one ready to download and print. This pattern is the one that got me interested in thread painting to begin with! I made it for my second granddaughter, Eliana Sofia, six years ago so it’s been a long time coming. But I really didn’t plan to make a patterns until after I had made 5 thread painted quilts and given them all as gifts! Then it dawned on me…. I had a style pattern I would like to produce.

single cover

And what is different about mine?

I include a special thread painting map drawn in Photoshop to show anyone who wants help deciding where to to thread paint and how it should look… taking the guesswork out of it for first time thread painters or just to give you another approach than you might have thought of.

Part of the inspiration for this quilt was the birds I stenciled on her wall above her crib.

Eliana's Room

(The Flower Quilt in this picture is actually the first quilt I made her – that may be another pattern in the future although not one that is thread painted. When I took this photo, I hadn’t made the Birdie Quilt yet!)

You can find this pattern in my Etsy Store – instant digital download and physical copy.

About Sew Laura Artisan Quilts

Longarm Quilting Service, Digital Designs, Free Motion Quilting, Custom Quilting, Quilting Patterns
This entry was posted in Applique, Art Quilt, baby quilt, Child's Quilt, Designing, Free Motion Quilting, Longarm Quilting, Patterns, Quilted Wallhanging, Quilting, Raw Edge Applique, Thread Painting, Thread Sketching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

